PATRONS Frankie Armstrong * Michael Berkeley * Wissam Boustany * Martyn Brabbins * Billy Bragg * Phil Collins * Sir Mark Elder * Bryan Ferry CBE * Dame Jane Glover DBE * Julian Jacobson * Dame Emma Kirkby * Dame Cleo Laine * Ralph McTell * Colin Matthews OBE * Riccardo Muti * Michael Nyman CBE * Mary O'Hara * Sir Simon Rattle * Peggy Seeger * Roger Vignoles * Judith Weir CBE

PAST PATRONS Steuart Bedford OBE * Leonard Bernstein * Sir John Dankworth * Sir Colin Davis * Antal Dorati * Sir Charles Groves * Lynn Harrell * Emanuel Hurwitz * Kay Hurwitz * Nona Liddell * Ewan MacColl * Sir Neville Marriner * Sir Peter Maxwell Davies * Jessye Norman * Sir Peter Pears * William Pleeth * Bernard Roberts * Robert Simpson * Sir Georg Solti * Ronald Stevenson * Sir Michael Tippett * Paul Tortelier * Stan Tracey

Musicians for Peace and Disarmament was founded in 1983. Originally known as MANA, Musicians Against Nuclear Arms, it was the brainchild of a group of musicians and music lovers who had the idea of organising concerts by professional musicians to raise funds for the peace movement. Since then it has donated over £75,000 to organisations within the peace movement. Over the years many leading conductors, soloists, orchestral players and chamber musicians have taken part in our regular concerts, and continue to do so, with everyone giving their services for free. At most of our concerts a speaker is invited to give a short address. As well as our musical activities we produce a quarterly newsletter. MPD's president is the distinguished guitarist John Williams and our patrons are all prominent and influential figures drawn from many different areas of the musical profession. Our new name, MPD, was adopted a few years back to reflect today's wider but still urgently relevant concerns for world peace. MPD is affiliated to CND and Network for Peace and membership is open to anyone with an interest in music and a desire to further the cause of peace.

Upcoming Concerts

Monday 7th June, 2021

Free Online Event

A piano recital by Luka Okros

We are delighted to present the outstanding young Georgian pianist Luka Okros, who has been praised by The Observer for his 'impressive display of virtuosic pianism'. This was pre-recorded in Luka's home in London during the last lockdown. A beautiful programme including music by Beethoven, Chopin and Rachmaninoff, as well as an original composition by Okros himself.

Book for free or buy a pay-as-you-wish ticket via Eventbrite:

For any enquiries, please contact

Friday 25th June, 2021, 7.30pm

Free Online Event

Songs and Sounds from Wales

CND Cymru and MPD present a glorious range of styles from the "land of song". With performances by BRAGOD (Bob Evans & Mary-Anne Roberts), Stacey Blythe, Michael Harvey & Pauline Down, Bread and Roses (Frankie Armstrong, Laura Bradshaw, Pauline Down), and the Oasis Choir.

View/Download the poster in English
View/Download the poster in Welsh

Booking details will become available soon.

For any enquiries, please contact